Audion, Seth Troxler and Phil Moffa Remix Luciano’s “The Great Amael,” Out on Cadenza Music


Luciano’s “The Great Amael” was originally released in 2014, immediately sending listeners on a captivating and mesmerizing journey in true Cadenza fashion. Filled with a bewitching groove, Hammong organs and the characteristic percussion elements that have been a part of the signature Luciano sound for the better part of the last three decades.

Fast forward to two years later, and the Chilean-Swiss producer’s label own has brought on three of the most esteemed remixers for a tandem of original and stand-alone versions of this timeless piece from Luciano’s extensive discography.

Read more

Matthew Dear Releases First Album in Ten Years as Audion: “Alpha”


He’s back! Audion is set to release his first album in ten years this coming June.

Dear signed up Alpha to Berlin-based imprint !K7 for the release, a shift from most of his previously released LPs that have come out on Spectral Sound. Spectral Sound also hosted Audion’s Audion X compilation back in 2013.

Alpha is naturally techno-focused and contains a total of thirteen tracks. The album’s artwork comes courtesy of Dear’s longtime artist collaborator, Will Calcutt.

The album track “Destroyer” was debuted on the Boiler Room and introduced to SoundCloud with a pretty telling note: “The mind bending “Destroyer” stands out in its warped, cyclical grandeur. Its distorted synth and tenacious bass provides listeners with the full bodied dancefloor flavour they have so eagerly anticipated.”

Bandcamp is offering audio clips of the entire album. Pre-order the album via !K7 here.

Full tracklist for Alpha, which is out on June 10th, can be found below:

01) Dem
02) There Was A Button
03) Gut Man Commeth
04) Traanc
05) Celestial Antibody
06) Destroyer
07) Suppa
08) Napkin
09) Bob The Builder
10) Sucker
11) Timewarp
12) Zunk Synth
13) Sicko

Connect with Audion: Online | Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud | Resident Advisor

Matthew Dear presents DELQA, an Audiovisual Project in New York


Matthew Dear has revealed DELQA, an interactive art installation that will be open to the public from August 6-9 at Manhattan’s New Museum. DELQA is a collaboration by Dear and a team of artists and designers. The project will be on display at the Lower East Side’s New Inc Studio by the museum.

Matthew Dear blurs the lines between audio and visual creativity by incorporating the environment and producing new ideas through his music, notably by utilizing the playground of industrial sounds found at Detroit’s abandoned General Electric factory to produce the song Drop Science. He’s developed a musical ethos that resonates greatly with the audience, and is a noble innovator within the industry.

“I wanted to compose a sonic dreamscape, fully realizing that dreams are weird and not always black and white. The music rests between peaceful and chaotic states, allowing the listener to come up with their own story while engaging with the piece.” – Matthew Dear on the DELQA Project

The project will be open next week from 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM on Thursday and Friday, and from 11:00 AM -6:00 PM on Saturday and Sunday. In order to attend you must RSVP through DELQA’s official site.

Screen shot 2015-07-29 at 10.10.43 AM

Video: Kevin Saunderson & Matthew Dear Collecting Samples

Kevin Saunderson

“Ford moves people with cars. I move people with music” – Kevin Saunderson

Inspiration can strike in many forms. In the industry rich city of Detroit, Kevin Saunderson grabs his Zoom H4N and ventures into the Ford Assembly Plant to embrace the machines and technology. The process of collecting sounds is complete…the result? Well now we’ll just have to wait and see what the Detroit mastermind comes up with.

Just like Kevin Saunderson in the Ford Assembly Plant, Matthew Dear embarked on a similar sonic journey at one of the General Electric factories. Tuning in to the frequencies and energy of the environment, these artists are able to interpret sounds and translate that into music that is widely appreciated throughout the world.

Take a look at the two videos below to see the process behind two techno visionaries taking the music directly to it’s core.